The Five Dynasties and Ten Kingdoms period is the aftermath of the fall of the T'ang Dynasty, it is the continuation of the chaos of the border commanderies and it is also the transitional period between the T'ang Dynasty and the Sung Dynasty. The five administrations that followed one after the other in the Central Plain - Liang, T'ang, Chin, Han, Chou - that we customarily call the Five Dynasties because they have the same names as previous Dynasties have the word Latter prefixed to them, and are instead known as Latter Liang, Latter T'ang, Latter Chin, Latter Han and Latter Chou.